Stoneham High School

High School  І   Town of Stoneham

Athletic Hall of Fame




Hall of Fame Inductees - Class of 2006



1995 Baseball Team
1995 MIAA Division II State Champions


They were the best around and pretty much nothing kept them down. The Stoneham High School 1995 baseball team redefined excellence during a magical spring that saw perhaps the most talented hardball squad in school history cruise to a 10-0 start before finishing with a record of 19 wins and one loss in the Middlesex League Championship season.

The Spartans then won six straight games by an aggregate score of 37-4 to capture the Division II State Championship, Stoneham’s first undisputed State Championship under the tutelage of this year’s Hall of Fame inductee Coach Bill Seabury and assistant coaches Paul Cerrone and Tom Anderson.


The team was led by the outstanding pitching of Peter Fisher (10-1), Dave Mattatall (7-0), Darren Svendsen (6-0) and Mike Lindstrom (2-0). The pitching was balanced with powerful hitting including Chris Johnson who led the Middlesex League in batting average until dislocating his knee cap mid-way through the season. Johnson made a heroic return, however, knocking in the tying run with two outs in the bottom of the seventh to pave the way for a 5-2 win that awarded Stoneham the Division II North title.

The Spartans also got key contributions from infielders Steve Padovani, Jim DellaGatta, Joe Meahl, Greg DelGreco, Barry Cossette and outfielders Jeff Covelluzzi, Steven Conti, Mike Granata, Chris Jackson, Jeremy Sylvest and Matt Leeman. Handling the Spartan pitching staff was catcher Jon O’Donnell.

For their efforts, Fisher, Padovani, DellaGatta, Meahl and Covelluzzi were named to the All-Middlesex League team and O’Donnell and Mattatall were selected as league All-Stars.

Fisher, a Boston Globe and Herald All Scholastic, went 3-0 down the post-season stretch with a 0.56 ERA and 37 strikeouts in 25 innings and later was drafted by the Minnesota Twins before opting to go on to play at Alabama.

Copyright © 2012 . All Rights Reserved.