Stoneham High School

High School  І   Town of Stoneham

Athletic Hall of Fame




Hall of Fame Inductees - Class of 2008



1929 Football Team
Undefeated League Champions - 10-0


They wore leather helmets and played without face masks. While many Americans lost everything in the Wall Street stock market crash, there was one thing that the 1929 Stoneham High football team did not do at all...lose.

Posting a 10-0 record, the Spartans outscored their opponents by an incredible 276-25 margin under the tutelage of second year coach, SHS Hall of Famer Howard “Doc” Gordon.

Led by Johnny Adzigian, another SHS Hall of Fame member, not much was expected of the Spartans by The Stoneham Independent who noted that “on off ense, the team was extremely weak, to say the least” after a scrimmage with Melrose.

After opening with a 14-0 victory over Winchester, Adzigian racked up two touchdowns, including an 80 yard kick-off return to beat Maynard 25-7. That was the last score an opponent would make against Stoneham until Essex scored a TD five games later.

Stoneham then rolled over Reading, Lexington, Danvers and Concord by scores of 20-0, 52-0, 45-0 and 27-0. Adzigian notched five of the TD’s against Danvers. After beating the Essex Aggies 26-6, the Spartans had a rare close game in a 7-6 victory over Attleboro, the victory being preserved by a Stoneham goal line stand. They soon went back on their destructive path with a 27-6 win over Walpole and a 33-0 win over Punchard.

Playing their home games at Pomeworth Street Grounds, Adzigian accounted for 20 of Stoneham’s touchdowns and was often called upon to kick, run or pass for the P.A.T. He got plenty of scoring help from Roger Blackburn (10 TD’s), Gordon “Red” Marston (who would later go on to be a longtime sports columnist for The Stoneham Independent), Will Avery, Al Kent, Bill Chase, Fran Orsillo and Fred Corcoran.

They were anchored on the line by Warren Bingham, Norman Downes, Bob Johnson, Al Rotondi, Arthur Theroux and Bob Wallace. The squad was rounded out by Vincent “Jim” Messina, Gabriel Govastes, Ed Grundberg, George Halpin, Ralph Jenkins and Art Ryan.

Copyright © 2012 . All Rights Reserved.